Scan to Abc

Frequently asked questions about writing/printing music in MusiCAD
KenF

Scan to Abc

Post by KenF » 21 Sep 2010 08:35

I am looking for Music Notation software. My needs are minimal, I want to be able to simply re-format sheet music to build my own (single line) music Library. (I play the keyboard - one finger!)

I am attracted to ABC because it offers an easily understood editor that would allow me to edit my music in text form. This would ensure that I could easily apply ANY edits with minimum skill - without the fear that I would learn a program only to find that it would not allow all the small changes that I might need to do after scanning.

Also ABC has a lot of Freeware and since I am a novice, this is an attractive way to get introduced to muc=sic notation.

Is there a freeware scanner that I can use and then input to Musicad so that I can export ABC files. And is Musicad Free for this purpose?

musys
Beheerder

Re: Scan to Abc

Post by musys » 21 Sep 2010 11:35

Is there a freeware scanner that I can use and then input to MusiCAD so that I can export ABC files. And is MusiCAD free for this purpose?
Import/Export of MIDI as well as ABC are available in MusiCAD without need of license. You will need some scan-to-midi facility to create MIDI-files from printed music.

However, if you are exporting single voice ABC compatible music, simply keying in the desired music lines with the aid of MusiCAD might be more proficient; just try ;)

KenF

Post by KenF » 21 Sep 2010 20:08

Well, OK! It has some neat data entry features. Congratulations on that.

But, (I told you my needs are simple) ... I am used to seeing the chords ABOVE the staff and this is one of the major things that I need. Also they are often too small for my old eyes and particularly so when they accompany guitar cords.

I just want to reformat my music to remove notes (and staffs) that I don't play, make them more readable and then print them more than one to a page.

KenF